logo

OUTSIDER

Looking in, little match girl

Vicarious thrill

Of living other people’s scintillating

Lives

Loves.

Never the mousy, timid brown

The humdrum dreary everyday

We have enough of our own.

Brilliant colours

Momentarily thrill.

The Bond like quality

Of a spy’s life

Always observant

Knowing

their secrets

Not knowing

whether

they’re

enemies.

Outsider

looking in

skimming

Over, their depths and troughs

Flying exhilarated

Over their peaks

Focusing

From the outside in

Seeing only

What they want you to see

Being invisible

Even to yourself.

Negating

your own experience

Let me rescue myself

From this voyeur’s paradise

This void.

Let me look at things

From the inside, out.

Filtered

through my thoughts,

Feelings –

the hues and experience

Of my life

Let me feel their pain.

I can now

That I know who I am

Not an outsider

But an insider looking out

From feather lined softness

Lightness

From the solid strength

Of my own convictions.

~ Kal

10.1.2014

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/daily-prompt-outside-2/

